Epic Vegan Nachos + New COOKBOOK!

Well, I do apologise! It’s been a while since posting on here, but I thought what better way to break the silence than to share a recipe from my new cookbook, Beautifully Real Food!

s (2 of 3).jpg
For the past year and a half I have been hiding away in my little kitchen creating recipes for the book, and managed to keep it a secret for a whole year. I’m so excited (and nervous) to birth it into the world. The release date is 23 February and you can pre-order your very own copy here!

The book contains over 100 indulgent vegan meals, a whole lot of information about ingredients and vegan cooking plus my own personal story. I wanted it to be something a little more than just a recipe book, and I hope you love it.

Writing a book has been the (one of the) most challenging things I’ve ever done, I shot the whole book in my small kitchen and home, plus as a sensitive person by nature I’m incredibly nervous about what people will think (hah – I worry too much!) – my fear of criticism plus perfectionist nature can sometimes get the better me..  but hey, I’m human!! Living a creative life means those kind of fears do crop up. But I have my fingers and toes crossed that you’ll love it as I have poured every ounce of myself onto the pages. Plus, I had a wonderful publishing team who let me have the creative control to make a beautiful book!

So, without further notice – here’s my favourite Nacho recipe! They are a newer twist on nachos – and I hope you love ’em. They are smokey, full of flavour and super easy to make. I’d recommend preparing the cheese sauce ahead of time and then storing it in snaplock bags for easy storage and application!

Most asian supermarkets will stock Young Green Jackfruit (make sure it is NOT the one in syrup!!) – however if you cannot find it you can simply substitute for extra beans, shredded king oyster mushrooms (they have the same texture & result that Jackfruit gives plus are virtually tasteless) or any other vegetables of your choice.

nachos (1 of 1).jpgnachos 2 (1 of 1).jpg



Cheesy Nacho Sauce

**PREP THIS AHEAD OF TIME


1 large carrot, chopped and boiled until soft

120g (1 cup) raw cashews (soaked for 3-6 hours)
190ml (3/4 cup) soy or almond milk
30g (1/2 cup) nutritional yeast
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon light miso paste
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons maple syrup
salt to taste
  1. Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender until smooth, creamy and no lumps remain.
  2. To serve simply heat up in a small sauce pan.
  3. Store any leftovers in an air-tight container or snapback bag in the refrigerator for 4-5 days. When reheating you can simply thin out with a little plant based milk or veggie stock if needed.
** For applying to nachos, I like to put it in a snap lock bag and cut a slit in the corner to pipe it over the nachos.


ULTIMATE BLACK BEAN NACHOS 

Serves 2-3


1x 560g (20oz) can of Young Green Jackfruit in water, rinsed and drained
1 tablespoon coconut oil (or other oil of choice)
1 brown onion, finely diced
125ml (1/2 cup) salt free tomato paste (puree)
125ml (1/2 cup) vegetable stock
1-2 teaspoons smoked paprika
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon chipotle chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon dried sage
2 tablespoons organic maple syrup or coconut nectar
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
1x 400g can black beans, rinsed and drained
125ml (1/2 cup water) extra water, if needed to prevent sticking)
For the toppings;
  • Cheesy Nacho Sauce
  • Corn Chips
  • Salsa
  • 1 ripe avocado, sliced or mashed with lime juice, sea salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh lime
  1. Prepare any toppings beforehand
  2. Slice the hard centre part away from the jackfruit chunks and discard, so you are just left with the softer sinewy edges (it will resemble shredded chicken)
  3. In a non-stick frying pan, fry the onion in the oil until fragrant. Add the tomato paste, vegetable stock, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, spices, sage and jackfruit to the pan. Simmer over a low-medium heat for 4-5 minutes until some of the liquid has reduced. Using a fork, gently pull away at the jackfruit – it will start to shred apart like shredded chicken.
  4. Add the maple syrup, nutritional yeast and black beans to the pan. Add more water to the pan to prevent sticking if necessary. Remove form the heat after a few minutes and set aside.
  5. Begin assembling your nachos by arranging corn chips on a plate. Top with the nacho ‘meat’, hot cheesy nacho sauce, salsa and avocado. Serve with fresh lime.
** Optional, but feel free to add some vegan sour cream or coconut yoghurt to spice things up a bit!

4 thoughts on “Epic Vegan Nachos + New COOKBOOK!

  1. veganeatstoronto says:

    Congrats again on this new chapter in your life, Sam. I too am a super sensitive person and am always nervous whenever I put myself out there (in real life especially!). Anyway, this book will no doubt be wonderful. Sure there might be negative comments here, or there, but don’t let that consume you. You are adding so much positivity to the world with your creations and vegan culinary encouragement. Xx.

    Like

  2. kleinSTYLE Blog says:

    Dear Sam,
    I looooove your cookbook! I stumbled upon it somewhere on Instagram and pre-ordered it at Amazon. Desperately I waited for it, knowing I still had to wait a few weeks, since it said it would be delivered an the first of March! But lucky me, it got delivered about two weeks in advance and ever since I try your recipes and am very pleased to say the least! Thanks for this beautifull book of total yumminess!

    Greets from Germany, Janina

    Like

Leave a comment